Favorite Christmas Movies

As Christmas comes closer, I get excited for the event by putting on my favorite festive movies. I tend to watch the same ones every year, and I thought I share my favorites.

ELF

Will Ferrell kills the Christmas season with this classic holiday film. Elf exemplifies the difficulty of family during the season, but how we all truly love one another in the end. Ferrell’s stellar comedy proves that anyone can enjoy Christmas by showing that “the best way to spread Christmas cheer is singing loud for all to hear.”

DR. SEUSS’ HOW THE GRINCH STOLE CHRISTMAS

Although I used to be terrified of this film until I was about 12, this is one of my favorite festive movies now. Jim Carrey steals the show as the Grinch, and the crazy world from Dr. Seuss makes this a non-traditional, but heart-warming story that anyone will love. I adore this film because out of all of the movies that I am talking about, it gives the most important message…

“maybe Christmas, he thought, doesn’t come from a store, maybe Christmas, he thought, means a little bit more”

MIRACLE ON 34TH STREET

While the 1994 version still carries the same message, it is nothing like the original made in 1947. Although this movie is somewhat dangerous, considering it contemplates the authenticity of Kris Kringle. However, whether you celebrate Santa or not, this story will warm your heart as young Susan Walker discovers the good and the bad of Christmas.

THE SANTA CLAUSE

I have watched this movie every holiday season since I can remember, and it gets better every year. I still enjoy the 2nd and 3rd movie, but there is nothing that comes close to the 1st. Tim Allen character development speaks to any Scrooge during December, and is a great family film.

LOVE, ACTUALLY

This Christmas film is definitely not for children, so I was only introduced to it last year- but it has already made it on to my favorites list. I am a sucker for movies that have too many characters and intertwining story lines that all collect together at the end. I love how every character is so different, which makes for tons of comedy, while still portraying stories with lots and lots of heart.

THE POLAR EXPRESS

I have very fond memories of when this film came out and I first saw it in theaters. Although it was the day I found out that IMAX and I do not agree, the message of the film made up for it. This movie tests a child’s ability to believe, and it is clear that this is not only isolated to believing in Santa.

Leave a Reply

